Relocating with a Child

Welcome to the Saigonist Expat Forum! Anyone is welcome to ask and answer questions here and there's no need to create an account.

Ask anything related to living and working in Saigon or Vietnam. All that I ask in return is that you look at the existing topics and try to help others with any information that you know.

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
Ryan George (not verified)
Relocating with a Child

I am a resident of lovely Las Vegas, Nevada, but I am interested in relocating. I have a lovely Vietnamese girlfriend that lives in Long Khanh and I would like to be closer to her. I would like to either study abroad or work abroad in Ho Chi Minh City. I am currently a working adult and full time student here trying to earn my degree in anthropology. Also, I am a single father of a three year old child. So, my question is: what should I do? How much money should I have saved before I come? Should I study or take classes from my home university online and work while I am there? Should I bring my son or leave him with his grandparents (which I would rather not do)? Please advise.

Cheers,
Ryan

tomo

Hi Ryan,

What do you plan to do with your degree in anthropology. To be frank, having it probably will not make a difference if trying to find a job in Vietnam. But I'm not suggesting you stop before you graduate. If you're working now and saving money while taking classes, I would continue doing that until you are done instead of taking classes online while living in Vietnam. If you require fast and consistent internet speeds for video conferencing to your university or something it could be dicey and it might not be possible to take any exams at any kind of "testing centers" here that your university will accept.

There's no hard number on how much you should save, but it shouldn't be in the single thousands of dollars. You should continue earning money at your current job, be frugal and save as much as possible before moving here.