Teaching EFL

Welcome to the Saigonist Expat Forum! Anyone is welcome to ask and answer questions here and there's no need to create an account.

Ask anything related to living and working in Saigon or Vietnam. All that I ask in return is that you look at the existing topics and try to help others with any information that you know.

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
Ren (not verified)
Teaching EFL

Hello. I am interested in relocating to Vietnam. I am an English teacher and I have done this work for many years. I am qualified but do not have a degree. I received an email from MEG re English-teaching jobs in the South of Vietnam. The list of cities provided was: Hai Duong, Hai Phong, An Giang, Soc Trang, Cantho, Vinh Long. The hours are up to 25 hours a week, salary 400, 500 or 700 depending on area. Free accommodation, just pay for electricity and water. I was told that it costs around 1 dollar for a meal, 40 cents for an iced coffee. Is this a good deal? My husband and I currently have an income around 1000 dollars for part-time online work and wonder if I would be better off keeping that if we could survuve on that in such places. Thanks

Anonymous

Hi Ren,
As my opinion, at first, you should determine that you want to live in big city or country side. Big city is active, vibrant, crowded, high level lifestyle but polluted, noisy and not much green space. The country side is not noisy, polluted, they have fresh air, green environment, peace but not excited for the active and young person, there is not much nightlife.

After that, you should choose to stay in the north or south of Vietnam. It's said that living in the south is easier than the north (people said that and i'm living in the south, of course :) ). Big cities in the south are Ho Chi Minh city, Can Tho, the smaller cities is Dong Nai, Binh Duong and then An Giang, Soc Trang, Vinh Long...